Catching up

Now, truth be told, I spent most of my weekend watching my wife play Super Mario Bros. 2 and 3 on the Wii and playing in the snow with my son.

But I did get to watch some of the NBA All-Star Game and the Winter Olympics.

Here are my thoughts:

1. The NBA All-Star Game is the best of the major sports’ all-star events. It beats baseball because of the revolving door of pitchers and it smokes football, soccer and hockey for its intensity.

Sure, nobody’s playing any defense. But that makes it fun, right?

And here’s a memo for the NFL: Grab a tape of the halftime show, watch it and learn something.

Shakira and Alicia Keys were very good.

And easy on the eyes, too.

2. I always enjoy the Olympics, even if I have to listen to idiots like ESPN’s Doug Gottlieb decry it as a racist event.

He’s a muppet, by the way.

As for the Games, it was cool to watch Alex Bilodeau win Canada’s first gold medal on home soil in men’s moguls.

It was even cooler to listen to him describe his brother, dealing with Cerebral Palsy, as his hero and inspiration just minutes after his blistering run down the hill.

I know the feeling.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Catching up”

  1. Frank Spurlock Says:

    108,713 people at an All-Star game… that’s phenomenal! I might be slightly biased, but I agree Randy, NBA All-Star Weekend is the best All-Star experience of any sport.

  2. randycapps Says:

    I really need to see that place before I die.

    I think I’d just stare at the TV the whole time…

Leave a Reply

