The countdown is on – just five days left

ec

Donate today!

There. Don’t want to be accused of burying the lead.

Yesterday, I wrote a little something in this space about the challenges of dealing with the world of autism.

That netted me a $20 donation from my brother.

You da man, Scottie.

Today, let’s go a little lighter.

Last night, I was taking a bath and brushing up on the coming season of college hoops with my shiny new Athlon magazine. Because our new house isn’t ready yet, there’s only one bathroom. Naturally, my bath time is often interrupted by Ethan’s bathroom needs.

So, anyway, he comes in and uses the bathroom. He looks over and says, “Daddy, can I take a bath after you?”

“Sure,” I said.

He then said, “can I fill the tub up like you do?”

I think it’s cute that he wants to be like me.

One day, I’ll see if I can get him to aim higher.

I liked last night’s “be like daddy moment” better than the one we had in Shelby a few years back.

We’re in the kiddie pool in the backyard, swimming. He smiled, looked at his mom, took both of his hands and pushed his hair back as far as it would go and proudly announced, “now, I look like daddy!”

Nothing like a reminder of the cruelty of male pattern baldness from your son.

I’m thankful for these exchanges. Not every family in the world of autism has them.

Some parents don’t get to hear their child’s voice.

Ever.

Even though it may not always feel like it, I’m one of the lucky ones.

With your help, the Autism Society of North Carolina can make that dream come true for other people.

Won’t you help?

Donate today!

2 Responses to “The countdown is on – just five days left”

  1. Youth Sports » Blog Archive » Still raising money Says:

    […] Click here. Filed under: […]

  2. Youth Sports » Blog Archive » Still raising money Says:

    […] Click here. Filed under: […]
    BTW I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

