Cry me a river, Melvin

I’m a pretty patient guy.

I must be. I’m an Oriole fan.

But Melvin Mora’s comments the other day go beyond the normal acceptable levels of athlete stupidity and cross over into politician-like idiocy.

He told reporters on Sunday, “I don’t appreciate the disrespect, because I’ve been playing hurt for a guy who won’t respect you. I don’t deserve it. Whatever he wants to do, he can do it. But like I told you before, I need to have my respect. This is not a guy who just came to the Orioles. This is a guy who’s been here for nine years busting his butt for the organization.”

Apparently, he’s not happy that he’s been on the bench recently in favor of Ty Wigginton.

So, let’s analyze this, shall we?

Mora is hitting .256 with three homers and 27 RBI in 285 at-bats. I’m sorry, dude, but as a third baseman, that isn’t getting it done.

And if you’re keeping score, Wigginton has five more homers, three more RBI and a better batting average in about 50 fewer at bats.

So, Melvin, let me give you my take.

SHUT UP!

Or waive you’re no-trade clause and let us try to ship you somewhere. But if you can’t crack five homers as a corner infielder, you aren’t allowed to talk to the media.

Ever.

There, now I feel better.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

