Democracy at work

I don’t usually start anything I write with a quote, but I’m making an exception here:

“I didn’t kill nobody, I didn’t rape nobody, so that’s it, I’m just going to come and play the game.”

That bit of wisdom came from the lips of Manny Ramirez, the Dodgers’ slugger who’s serving a 50-game suspension for testing positive for a female fertility drug that’s also a known mask of performance-enhancing drug use.

We can get into whether or not he’s a cheater (he is) or how this affects his Hall of Fame chances (it does), but I want to talk about the 2009 All-Star Game.

You see, he’s on the ballot.

Right now, he’s sixth among National League outfielders in voting. Thankfully, he appears to be fading a bit in the voting race, so perhaps this will all be a moot point.

But let me say this. If he’s elected or chosen to participate in any part of the all-star festivities, I will do something I haven’t done in my 20-plus years as a baseball fan.

I won’t watch a second of it. Not the home run derby, not the game, anything.

I’ll boycott it, and you should too.

I’m tired of this “Manny being Manny” garbage. There is no excuse for taking a shortcut and cheating the game.

There’s no free pass for having to explain to kids with his posters on the wall why their hero would cheat.

I’m sick of pro athletes and their above-it-all attitudes. So, he didn’t rape and kill anybody, eh?

I guess he deserves my congratulations on not being a violent criminal.

Yeah, there are worse things.

Like letting someone who knowingly cheated the game of baseball, his teammates, his club and his fans play in an all-star game.

Here’s hoping that “Mannywood” takes a siesta during the mid-summer classic.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Democracy at work”

  1. Mike Bollinger Says:

    Amen, brother.

Leave a Reply

