News and notes

I’ve been drafted into covering the other football recently, but I don’t want to totally neglect my duties here.

So let’s hit the high notes…

Travel soccer

Our good friend Debbie Martinez sent us some information on a pair of travel teams coming to the Stedman area. Interested? Read more about it here.

Martin out at Pinecrest

It was with a great deal of surprise that I learned about Larry Martin’s ouster as head coach of Pinecrest’s boys and girls’ soccer teams.

I don’t know the details on how or why, and it seems I’m not alone there. But here’s what I do know:

1. He won 20 games last year, advancing deeper into the state playoffs than any other team in the region.

2. His record of 225-62-24 in 14 seasons is peerless. The Patriots made the playoffs every year in his tenure and have won 64 straight MSE matches.

3. His players, past and present, support him as evidenced by his vocal support on Facebook and the N.C. Soccer Forum.

And I know this as well. A man he’s never met, me, sent him a note asking for nominations for his players for our all-area team. He sent me a four-page note, complete with stats and supporting arguments for his players.

But not before he thanked me for trying to promote soccer in the region.

The rumors are flying, and the athletic director and other school officials aren’t doing much to fill in the blanks. All I know is this: Soccer in Moore County, and the Cape Fear region, suffers without Larry Martin.

Ronaldo wins Ballon d’Or

I know, it’s shocking. But Cristiano Ronaldo added to his list of accomplishments recently with the coveted Ballon d’Or.

Anybody who nets 42 goals in a season deserves whatever honors we can give him.

As tribute, here’s a bit of Youtube magic…

One Response to “News and notes”

  1. The Offside Trap » Blog Archive » More on the mess in Moore County Says:

    […] you remember me mentioning that Pinecrest shockingly fired Larry Martin, coach of the highly successful boys’ and girls’ soccer teams at the high […]

Leave a Reply

