On the air

Barack Obama was interviewed on “Mike and Mike” this morning on ESPN radio.

As a Republican, I was prepared not to like him. As a honest man, I’m forced to admit that I did.

He was thoughtful and engaging. He actually knew what he was talking about.

He suggested passing a law outlawing domes in warm weather cities like Tampa. Of course, anyone who’s seen Tropicana Field can agree that building is shambolic. He also joked that he’d have the attorney general in his administration investigate forcing college football into a playoff system.

He also said something with which I’ve long agreed: Congress has more important stuff to do than to have hearing after hearing on steroids and PEDs.

It wasn’t partisan or bitter. In fact, he said that if both Chicago teams reach the World Series (not likely), he’d have to take the last week of the campaign off and head back to the Windy City to watch.

I don’t like his politics, and I don’t think he’d make a good president. But I sure like him more than I did when I woke up this morning.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

