The end of an era

For the first time since the mid-1990s, the New York Yankees won’t be taking part in the playoffs.

That’s right. The team with the $209 million payroll will finish third in the American League East while the Rays, who boast a payroll that’s about a fifth of the Bombers, will likely hang their first pennant at Tropicana Field.

Usually, this would bring me great joy. I hate the Yankees. I hate the fact that they try to buy titles.

But I had a thought on the way to work this morning. It’s more fun for me if they make the playoffs and lose than if they don’t go at all.

And while I loathe the Yanks, I appreciate their history. It would have been kind of cool for them to play a postseason game or two at Yankee Stadium before the doors close for good.

The old king is dead. Long live the king.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

