XM, Sirius merger details

I’m a little worried.

XM and Sirius have merged, and now they’re trying to meet the FCC requirements for the deal. Those requirements include an “a-la carte” package for current XM subscribers like me who are interested in listening to things exclusive to Sirius, and vice-versa.

Plans for that will be revealed on Oct. 6.

Meanwhile, the “Best-of” packages have been announced. These give consumers the chance to grab a few items on the other shelves. Here’s the breakdown:

SIRIUS on XM                          

Howard 100, Howard 101, Martha Stewart Living Radio, Sirius NFL Radio, Sirius NASCAR Radio and Playboy Radio                      

XM on SIRIUS

Oprah & Friends, NBA, NHL Home Ice, The Virus, Public Radio with Bob Edwards, College Sports and PGA Tour

This is a bit flawed. For starters, the Sirius folks aren’t getting the MLB coverage in this deal. Yes, I’m aware the season’s almost over. But there’s no guarantee that they’ll magically add it next April.

In addition, this will bump the monthly bill to $16.99.

It seems to me that this option is designed to get people to say, “Gee, I’ll just wait for the a-la carte. Then, I’ll just buy a new radio.”

That, of course, is exactly what Sirius XM wants, as they try to boost revenue in the wake of their recent merger.

I’ll probably do it, just because I want the sports channels from both sides. But I am a bit worried about what a new radio – and the shows for it – will cost.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “XM, Sirius merger details”

  1. Andrew Says:

    Do XM subscribers get grandfathered in if they pay in advance ie. the $360 36 month deal?
    I love XM because of MLB and ACC coverage.

    $16.99? way too much !

    ps- I can’t find this blog on the main page. I accidently found this when I clicked on a comment you put on Earl’s blog. I do see the soccer one though. And maybe Sammy can get his college blog going. thanks

  2. randycapps Says:

    You should be able to keep your XM programming as long as you’re paid up.

    It’s only if you want the few extra Sirius channels that you’ll have to shell out the extra cash.

    Eventually, I suspect we’ll all need new radios to receive XM Sirius programming. I’m already planning to purchase one, just for the soccer coverage on Sirius that I’m currently missing out on as an XM subscriber.

    This blog isn’t on the main page, as you may have already read in my other response, because it’s mine. If the FO linked to it, they’d probably want to own it. And I’m not willing to do that.

Leave a comment