A red-letter day

Yesterday was cool.

No, not the part where I lost to my wife in fantasy football. That part pretty much sucked as Roy Williams and Torry Holt decided to lay a collective egg, leaving the Knife Island Rebels well short on points against the Shannaland Stilettos.

I’m talking about the part where my lovely bride, Kinston media mogul Bryan Hanks, his girlfriend, Tina, and I hung out at Blincos, laptops bearing live socring in tow, and watched all of the 1 p.m. and 4 p.m. NFL games yesterday.

If you’re interested, my impression of Blincos runs as follows: Good food, decent atmosphere and questionable TV placement. Call me nitpicky, but I want a wall I can stare at that has every game being played on display.

Anyway, that was fun.

I’ve also got to spend a few words on the closing of Yankee Stadium.

I’m really glad my wife and I got the chance to sit in the upper deck, have a hotdog and soak up the history back in August. It’s a place that defies space and time and, even as an Oriole fan, it gave me chills to stare at a field that Babe Ruth and Joe DiMaggio once played on.

I hate the Yankees, but I respect them. And I’m going to miss the old stadium.

Tags: ,

One Response to “A red-letter day”

  1. Blogging with Bryan C. Hanks : Kinston Free Press Says:

    […] Had a great day with our good friend Randy Capps, his lovely wife Shanna and the hot blonde yesterday at a cool sports bar in Raleigh named Blincos. The RC/Shanna marriage is one of the best sports husband/wife combinations I’ve ever been around. And they’re fun, too. […]

Leave a Reply

