Exhibit A

I’ve long suspected that it takes a certain amount of lunacy to play and enjoy fantasy baseball.

Now, I’m sure.

Yesterday was an average day. I was having an average drive home, flipping around on the magic radio and checking out the latest on one of those ESPN SportsCenter radio breaks.

Then, I heard the news.

Jon Rauch, who was closing in Washington, was traded to the Diamondbacks yesterday for a minor league second baseman and a Heath Ledger poster.

“Crap,” I said aloud, even though I was by myself at the time.

Why is this news important? It’s simple.

Rauch is on my fantasy baseball team, providing me saves as I try to climb the ranks. Now, he’s on his way to Phoenix where his save opportunites might be limited to shagging loose balls in his shootarounds with one of the other 6-10 guys in baseball, Randy Johnson.

OK, maybe simple isn’t the right word.

So, having watched more Nationals games than is deemed healthy by the American Medical Association, I started racking my brain. I was about three miles from home, and I had to come up with the right guy to pick up.

I mean, the Nats are horrid, but saves are saves.

So I get home, wait for what seems like an eternity for my laptop to sputter to life and then cruise over to our league’s page.

I scan the recent transactions and smile, seeing that no one has made a play on the future Nats closer.

Maybe that’s because no one’s sure who that might be.

I scan the usual sources, ESPN, Roto Times, Yahoo! and come up with nothing.

So I took a guess. Joel Hanrahan is the guy in the pen I think has the best stuff. So I snagged him.

Turns out, I was right. He will be getting the save chances for Washington, for now anyway.

So, it’s official. I’m a nut job.

In other news, gravity is still holding me in my chair.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled Internet browsing.

Tags:

5 Responses to “Exhibit A”

  1. John Says:

    I’m not into fantasy baseball but I am a Nat’s fan (much to my son’s dismay) and try to catch a game whenever I can.

    What’s your take on Cordero- is he going to ever play again?

  2. randycapps Says:

    Yeah, I think so.

    He might have to re-invent himself a bit, as some steam might be permantly missing from his heater. But it’s been done before.

  3. John Says:

    I’d like to see him back on the hill.
    I was disappointed to see Ryan Church traded last year- but that’s the nature of the business I suppose.

  4. randycapps Says:

    It will be interesting to see if the Nats spend some money in the offseason. Right now, they’ve got a gleaming new park and very few good players to play in it.

  5. John Says:

    Heck- if they ever find themselves scraping the bottom of the barrel… well it was a brief thought anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

