Tape delay?

As I sit here aching after my weekend of tennis, I couldn’t resist the urge to rip the four-letter this morning.

Don’t get me wrong. I know we as sports fans owe a lot to ESPN. They’ve grown from Australian Rules Football and lumberjacking competitions to the source for the best MLB, NFL and NBA coverage anywhere.

But I swear they get on my nerves.

First of all, the ESPYs are a sham. It’s a shameless, self-promoting awards show where ESPN gets to build its brand by handing our awards to the athletes it’s supposed to be objectively covering.

But I feel that way about all award shows.

My issue is two-fold:

1. Why do I have to watch Sunday Night Baseball at 6 p.m.? I don’t care about Candace Parker winning an award for playing a sport nobody cares about. I want to watch baseball until 11 and then go to sleep.

2. Why, if you’re going to force feed this silly event down the throats of the sporting public, not do it live? The ESPYs actually took place in the middle of the week and everything interesting – Favre’s speech, the award winners, etc. – has already been widely reported. Why bother watching it?

I didn’t.

I doubt I’m alone.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

