Mea culpa, family style

I’m not a good person.

Not today, anyway.

Yesterday was my step-brother’s birthday. My childhood has more pieces than a bag of Reese’s, but through a large part of it, Scottie was there.

We didn’t always get along. In fact, most of the time, he was a pain in the rear. But as we’ve gotten older, we’ve gotten along better and better.

I went to his wedding last weekend, where I welcomed his lovely wife and her two children into our family, however dysfunctional it may be.

And how did I follow that up? By forgetting his birthday yesterday.

I’m bad with dates and even worse with names. Let’s just say organization is not one of my strong suits.

But that’s no excuse for forgetting his birthday, especially when he’s one of the few folks in my family that remembered mine back in May.

So consider this an apology. And a promise that, lord willing, it won’t happen again.

Leave a Reply

